Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 10 years ago

Is day trading as simple as watching stock rise and fall thought out the day?

Probably sounds like a dumb question, but is there any rhyme or reason to day trading, or is it simply watching upward and downward trends on a daily basis.

Is it as simple as taking 300 bucks a day plugging it into the market and seeing what happens?

Could you day trade on couple hundred dollars?

**please dont leave a spam response**

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The simple answer is no. Day trading is a difficult profession that can require years to perfect. I've been investing for 30+ years. Five years ago I started swing trading (holding a stock from 1 to 30 days.... sometimes, for me as long as a couple of months). I started day trading early in 2009.

There are two distinct skills needed;

Technical Analysis

Trading Money Management

You can't be successful at day trading without some expertise in both.

On average 95% of those that try to day trade give up.... or lose their account. Usually in a short period of time. Some people succeed relatively soon (very few)..... most take 3-5 years.

I'm pretty typical. I'm reading a new trading book every month... or re-reading one. I take weekly webinars regularly. My broker does 1-2 every week. One of them (Monday's) is solely on trading psychology.

Discipline, patience, having a plan (sticking to it) & plenty of trading education are the basic requirements

Here's some of the web traders I follow;

http://www.alphatrends.net/

http://leighdrogen.com/

http://joefahmy.com/

http://www.howardlindzon.com/

http://www.slopeofhope.com/

https://www.thinkorswim.com/tos/displayPage.tos?we...

I hope this answers your question. Trading becomes a passion. But the hours you have to put in every day can be exhausting.

• Anonymous
    10 years ago