do schools accomodate a student's religious beliefs while on foreign trips?

for example, i am a practicing catholic. if a group from my school and i went on a trip to spain for a few weeks, would they provide oppurtunity for me to still attend on sundays? is there legal requirements for schools to accomodate these things?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

An organised school trip should take attendance at church, mosque, synagogue or whatever as part and parcel of the visit. I'm a teacher and would no sooner expect a young person to abandon something spiritually important to them whilst on any trip (e.g. I made accommodations for Muslim pupils to be able to make their evening prayer whilst on a recent cub camp) and I would be shocked if the school hadn't already taken this into account.

Although I am a Christian I almost wrote saying that God doesn't keep tally and not attending church is less important than your holding true to your faith - you'll probably recognise that there are a lot of good 'churchgoers' who don't life particularly Christian lives so don't worry about not going for a few weeks, it doesn't make you a bad person. However, I do feel that it would be missing an opportunity if you were not to take part in and share a service with people from another European culture. So I'd say make the effort, any teacher worth their salt will ensure that you have the opportunity - depending on your age this might be that you need accompanying, otherwise they might just agree a course of action/timescale to enable you to attend on your own.

In reality your needs will be more easily met than most religions, finding a Catholic church in Spain shouldn't be the hardest thing to do, however finding a Catholic church in Spain which has says Mass in English might be harder unless you are heading to a more 'touristy' area.