West Point Military Academy, is it worth it?

I already asked this question in the "higher education" department but I am asking again here hoping to get more answers from people experienced in the military-

Ok, so lately I have been toying with the idea of attending West Point (assuming I get in). I'm only a sophomore in high school and some may think I am too young to decide whether or not I want to go to a military institute. However, I am confident that this is something I really want to do. But, my mother is adamant about me not going, saying that I will "get my legs blown off in Iraq". I have tried weighing the pros and cons, and I haven't been able to budge her. So I am asking anybody for suggestions on how to sway my mother, and, if you have attended the Academy, how was your experience? Is it worth it?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

West Point is great. Sophomore year is the perfect time to start thinking about colleges, especially if you plan to apply to one of the most--if not the most--prestigious schools in the world. While your friends are out having a blast, partying it up, you'll be studying, traveling, learning how to lead, and doing something worthwhile with a definite direction. You come out as an officer and trust me, after your active duty, you can do virtually anything you want. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity and trust me, not everyone will get it. if you do, i will be glad for you.

You should probably tell your mom EVERYTHING is paid for and you get a monthly stipend. I'm sure that will convince most parents.

If you're thinking about attending west point, i assume you're not at all an idiot and must be very motivated academically, physically, and mentally(not every kid wants to serve his or her country.)

With that said, you'll probably get into a good but very expensive school. hm?