how long does it take to learn how to type?

how long does it take to learn how to type?

I know that this is wierd question, (It's a little like asking how long it takes to drive) but I am trying to teach myself touch typing, (a skill I've never really learned. I peak.)

I'm not having much luck. By that I mean I'm still making too many mistakes. I know it's not something I can learn in a day, but on average, how long does it take? Weeks, months or years?

Update:

I would love to take a real class. Unfortunatly, I can't find any that take adults. I checked with my local comunity college, they don't have one.

They said the skill was to 'basic' to have a class about.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I used to play Mavis Beacon along time ago in Grade 1/2 or something in computer class.

It really helped with my typing, but I still sucked alot.

Then I started playing video games and I got used to typing and also went onto many forums and websites etc. where I just had to type ALOT and after 1/2 years I was the best typer in my family.

Now after lots of years I have about 85 words per minute.

If your really focused on learning how to type, 1 month should be enough, in my case it was very casual and slow. You could first learn by looking at the keys on your keyboard. Get used to where the keys are positioned. Then type simple words, and type them as fast as you can. After getting used to the words and being easily able to type them out, try longer words. Keep your hands abit high above the keyboard so you can see what your typing. Remember to place your hands on the keyboard correctly. Then just keep typing stuff out, try chatting with people or maybe play a video game and chat with people. You could also type something out just to learn typing.

After a while you could try this link (you could just skip everything and play around with it to learn your WPM)

http://www.typeonline.co.uk/typingspeed.php

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago