Anonymous

why do i have to dumb myself in order to find a job?

I'm an experienced accountant as well as a administration secretary with many many many customer service skills. After being laid off my last job due to the economy, i have applied EVERYWHERE!!!!! I have gone through job agency's, lots of websites like careerbuilders and monster and craigslist. but there are thousands of others just like me looking for a job. so i tried sending my resume to small little jobs (you know those starter jobs) like supermarkets, walmart, restraunt jobs and they always look at me and say "YOUR OVER QUALIFIED" I hate it because they know i'm going down to this level because i'm desperate for a job and need money but they still ask stupid questions about what am i doing here. So my idea is to "dumb" myself on the resume, instead of having "the Account's Receivable Clerk" who is known for gaining back over $50,000 in lost revenue, i'll just put "Front Desk Clerk" that way I don't seem so smart to them, what do you think? Then I'll also have a separate resume that has my real skills to be sent to the real big jobs. But for now, I really need any kind of job that will provide a meal on the table for me and my wife.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

Definitely check out everyone else's answers, but I thought I would share my own issues in the faltering economy, and actually having the opposite of you - having a LACK of a great resume.

Honestly, they say not to lie on a resume, but in order to receive even a $10/hr. job in telemarketing, I had to say I'd worked for tele-sales company's much longer, because of requirements in applying. And when I was really trying to work, I as well applied to Wal-Mart, and received a cashiering position by just putting ONE job on my application, that being a volunteer as a cashier at a non-profit organization.