Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 1 decade ago

Some good sci fi books with action?

i'm looking for a sci fi book (preferably not a series) that happens in the future with a good amount of action and adventure that is hopefully not too technical. as an example, the 5th element is a great future sci fi movie, so is i, robot, blade runner, etc.

any suggestions? i'm new to the sci fi genre so i wanted to start off around there.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The "not in a series" request is tough with Sci-Fi. Although most of these books are the first book in a series they will all work as stand alone books. Given how good they are, I expect you will appreciate that they are part of a series, once you have read the initial book.

(Remember it is the PUBLISHERS anf FANS who push for the SEQUELS to successfull books that create the series in the first place.)

In MILITARY Science Fiction, here are some I would recommend:

"The Forever War" (1974 / 236 pages) by Joe Haldeman

Deals with the effect of time dilation, on those involved in an interstellar war.

(Won the Hugo and Nebula Awards.)

"Hammer's Slammers" (1979) by David Drake

(the first book of the "Hammer's Slammers" series)

“With the Lightnings” (1998) by David Drake

(the first book of the “Republic of Cinnabar Navy (RCN)”/ “Lt. Leary” series)

"Sten" (1982) by Chris Bunch and Allen Cole

(the first book of "The Sten Chronicles")

Sten is orphaned and then recruited into the Eternal Emperor's "Mantis" covert intelligence corps.

"Dorsai" (1959 / 159 pages) by Gordon R. Dickson

(the first book of “The Childe Cycle”)

Deals with genetic drift and specialization, and there effects on humanity as a whole.

Nominated for the Hugo award.

“Dune” (1965 / 412 pages) by Frank Herbert

(the first book of the “Dune Series)

(Won the Hugo and Nebula Awards.)

"Warriors Apprentice" (1986) by Lois McMaster Bujold

(the first book of "The Vorkosigan Saga")