Need your help asked in TravelNepal · 1 decade ago

Looking for information on Trekking in Nepal?

Hi Guys,

I am a Sri Lankan national, who is planning to travel to Kathmandu for trekking. I have never done it before. Therefore, please advice me how should I reach any local agencies who can provide me a good trekking experience. Also, how much will it cost? If I want to rent the necessary equipments for trekking, would it be possible in Kathmandu? How much will it cost? What is the best Mountain for a beginner like me?

I really like to experience the typical Nepali life, villages. So that I do not want a fancy trekking package where Westerners would prefer. I would be happy if I can join any local trekkers whom I can also learn alot about Nepal, its people and culture.

Waiting for your answers....

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi. I go to Nepal regularly and have done many treks there, both the popular routes like Everest Base Camp and Around Annapurna and also lesser-known routes like Dhaulagiri Circuit, Rau Chuli and Helambu.

If you really want to experience Nepali life, I would recommend staying away from the two most popular areas, Khumbu (Everest) and Annapurna. There are so many other options, such as Dolpa, Manaslu, Kanchenjunga and Ganesh Himal. However, I will say that as far as costs go, the more remote regions do not have the benefit of tea houses, so you must bring all your camping gear and food for the entire journey. This requires the hiring of porters, which adds to the expense. Trekking in tea houses, you will save on porters and be able to sleep indoors, with prepared meals. It is not that expensive.