Head Pain After Playing the Oboe?

I use to be able to play without breathing for 4+ measures, but now after just playing a 1 oct. A scale can be very painful. I've been playing the Oboe for about 2 1/2 years now. When I stop playing I become very lightheaded, my vision gets white and sometimes black dots in it, and my head will throb really bad for 1 minuet to sometimes 3. If you know anything about this please tell me how I could make it less painful, or if it has happened to you.

Thanks (:

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Sounds like you for some reason are getting pain from the really high pressure it takes to create windspeed to play the instrument.....I sometime have gotten bloody noses from the pressure, but I would recommend seeing a doctor and getting a catscan.

• 1 decade ago

This doesn't sound like something one can diagnose over the phone. I'd say first go to a doctor and make sure there's no problem with your health that's causing this, just to be on the safe side. You could be anemic or something else that might cause those symptoms. Then go see a professional oboe teacher - if they see you play they may be able to figure out if you're doing something that is making you feel this way. This isn't normal for you to feel like this when you play, that's for sure - not that you need to worry, just need to get it checked out! Be proactive - there's no reason you should have to suffer in this way to play the oboe :)

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago