Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 decade ago

Are these stocks and bonds worth anything?

My grandparents inherited a few stocks from an uncle that passed. I have no knowledge of stocks or bonds and I was wondering if anyone could help me figure this out.

Bethlehem Steel Corporation: 50 stocks (June 14, 1963)

The Columbia Gas Systems Inc: 70 stocks (Jan 27, 1960)

USWest, Inc: 10 Stocks (April 16, 1984)

USWest, Inc: 10 Stocks (May 28, 1986)

These two are mortgage bonds. Both bonds were taken out in June of 1963.

Pacific Gas and Electric (Mortgage Bond): $5,000 - due at 4 and 1/2% (Series DD) June 1, 1990

American Telephone and Telegraph Company (Mortgage Bond): $5,000 - due at 4 and 3/8% - April 1, 1985

Please do not tell me to go to a stock broker, my grandparent have already been to one and he was not helpful.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • M
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Talk to a different stockbroker or investment advisor. Some are helpful, some are not. It really depends on how good they are at what they do. From what I found:

Bethlehem Steel Corporation - Went bankrupt in 2001 due to falling steel prices and bad management decisions. The stock is likely worthless at this point

Columbia Gas Systems: Also filed for bankruptcy in 1991. Probably worthless as well.

US West - US West is a telecommunications company. It was bought out by Qwest communications in 2000. Qwest is still a publicly traded company. These shares likely have considerable value still today.

Judging by how you described those bonds, they have likely matured at this point and are probably worth their par value plus interest. Likely more than $10,000. This money is probably sitting in a brokerage account somewhere and should be distributed to you. Look for some account statements from your grandparents in order to find out which stockbroker they were using previously. Start there. If not go to many places until you get some real help.