JS asked in Entertainment & MusicMovies · 1 decade ago

What are some movies with lots of courtroom scenes?

I am a law student taking evidence and our professor has assigned us to watch a movie scene and analyze the evidence issues that it presents. My mom suggested To Kill a Mockingbird and A Few Good Men? Are these appropriate in your view? I would like something that (1) had lots of courtroom scenes and (2) is consdered classic and/or memorable.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • LilyRT
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

To Kill a Mockingbird is a great law flick, but there is only one sequence in the courtroom and it doesn't really have any evidence issues beyond eyewitness testimony. A Few Good Men is a better example. A lot more courtroom scenes and various evidence examples: a log book, medical records, etc.

Anatomy of a Murder is a great legal flick, and getting a pair of underwear admitted into evidence becomes important at the end.

The Verdict is also excellent and there are some missing medical records that come into play.

Inherit the Wind is a classic and one side keeps trying to get evidence of evolution admitted but the judge won't let it in.

Reversal of Fortune is based on the real trial of Claus von Bulow. Alan Dershowitz takes over the case at appeal and is trying to prevent admission of evidence taken by a hired gun. not many courtroom scenes, but the movie focuses heavily on the legal preparation behind getting ready for appeal

Source(s): lawyer and movie fanatic
  • Kini
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

There was a good TV series call The Paper Chase in the '70s about law students and what they really went through. John Houseman was the main star.

There are a lot of old movies with courtroom scenes. I dont know which is helpful for you. You would need something that is technically correct regarding the law. These are some really superb movie courtroom dramas.

Inherit the Wind, Frederic March and Spencer Tracy.

The Verdict with Paul Newman.