Automate formatting excel data onto new worksheet?

How would I take a row of data and automate the process. I have limited experience programming. Here is an example of the raw data I am working with:

Date First Name Last Name Age Address State Zipcode

1/1/10 Jon Doe 25 1 Sun Lane NY 12345

1/2/10 Jane Doe 22 15 Sun Drive NJ 12346

etc....

Then I want to take this data and print it out so that each row of data is shown as:

Name: Jon Doe

Address: 1 Sun Lane State: NY Zip Code: 12345

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Name: Jane Doe

Address: 15 Sun Drive State: NJ Zip Code: 12346

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I know there is a simple way to automate this. I am working with a file that has a couple thousand lines that I need to redo the formatting for and don't know how to automated he process. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is a simple but brute force way to do this.

Insert a new worksheet into your workbook. In this new worksheet, enter these formulas:

in B4, "=SEARCH(" ",INDIRECT("Sheet1!$A" & INT((ROW()/4)+1)),A4+1)"

Copy B4 into C4, D4, and E4.

In F4, "=IF(MOD(ROW(),4)=0,"Name: " & MID(INDIRECT("Sheet1!A" & INT((ROW()/4)+1)),

$B4+1,$D4-$B4-1), IF(MOD(ROW(),4)=1,"Age: " & MID(INDIRECT("Sheet1!A" &

INT(ROW()/4)+1), $D4+1,$E4-$D4-1), IF(MOD(ROW(),4)=2, "Address: " &

MID(INDIRECT("Sheet1!A" & INT(ROW()/4)+1), $E4+1,LEN(INDIRECT("Sheet1!A"

& INT(ROW()/4)+1))-$E4-6) & " Zip Code: " & RIGHT(INDIRECT("Sheet1!A" &

INT(ROW()/4)+1),5), "---------…")))"