Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicRock and Pop · 1 decade ago

Question about Chad Smith (the drummer) and the Red Hot Chili Peppers?

Let me say first off that I am a drummer myself, which makes me wonder, why is Chad Smith reguarded as such a great drummer? He plays very simple two and four beat rythyms, and yes I have seen some of his solos, they're nothing that special. Don't get me wrong at all, he's a great drummer. Let me repeat, he is a GREAT drummer, no doubt. But why is his drumming not as prominent like Travis Barker's in Blink-182?

Update:

So you guys agree that he's a good drummer too, but he's part of a great band. And travis barker is the best part of a crud band. Well, why doesn't Chad Smith step it up with his drumming to show more of his skills?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Haha +1 for macca & the will ferrel comment :P

eh okay i am no drummer myself, but i know that Chad is famous for pounding the drums literally to bits, supposedly a friend hooked them up with chad when auditioning for a new drummer (Jack irons their original had left at this stage) & they were totally blown away him & Flea were just perfect from day 1 with one another.

As for what he plays, just like metal shredders play things very fast sometimes it isn't the best.

RHCP are very big into letting their notes breathe rather than cramming in a million too many notes. Chad has very good Rhythm, another notable eg of this is Rod De Ath from Rory Gallagher (name of band due to the lead man) he is considered a highly underrated drummer (so is rory the guitarist & lou the keyobardist) but was amazing cause of his rhyhtm by those who knew him.

It ain't all about fancy flash-solos & pounding away sometimes a simplistic approach is best & when you're trying to tame flea into rhythm that is quite a job

Source(s): Bass player die hard chili fan
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago