Are motorcycles all that dangerous?

I'm going to start riding a motorcycle (a 700cc Yamaha virago) and my girlfriend is freaking out saying that I'm going to die or get really messed up in some way. So are they really all that dangerous?

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Dimo J
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Motorcycles have a high accident/injury rate because of the idiots that choose to ride them. If you want to go fast you can get a 4-cyl 600cc race bike that will do 170mph for about $6K or a high performance sports car for about $60K.

A motorcycle is a smaller target, quicker, more agile, and for any particular person they are less likely to be involved in a collision, less likely to be injured, and less likely to die on a motorcycle than in a car.

• 1 decade ago

Traffic is all dangerous. On a motorcycle you have vulnerability, but you also have agility. That means, you can drive your way out of harm's way most times.

I started riding motorcycles in late 1969. I rode the last time in 1993, but because the bike was worn out, not me. I had a few close calls. Mostly, I had fun. My father told me, " Stay scared of it, because the day you aren't you will fall.". I fell. I got up and rode away. After awhile I got a helmet and then came the helmet law- the price of helmets went up a lot right along with the law coming in. I liked gloves. I didn't like helmets, but wore it to stay this side of the law.

Motorcycles aren't any more dangerous than the traffic and the road it travels. Notice how many motorcycles you see everywhere, not falling down- how many riders you see enjoying life. You'll have more to pay attention to. Take the safety course.