promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Audition song for les miserables?

I'm trying out for les mis this summer at a local theater. This particular production is for those 13 to 19 years old and i am 15. This is my first time auditioning for a show at this theater. Does anyone know of any good audition songs that are similar to the style of songs in the show and also can show your acting ability? (There are no acting auditions, just singing and dancing.) I'm a soprano. The lowest note i can generally hit is the A below middle C (sometimes its a little lower than this, but if it is too much lower then it doesn't sound right). The highest note i can hit is the C two octaves above middle C (however, it sometimes sounds a little strained). Any suggestions?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Jess
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You are so lucky! I'm dying to be in Les Mis! (No pun intended...I'm a Fantine hopeful.) It's always best to sing a song from a musical when auditioning for, well, a musical of course. You want to find a song that suits your voice as well as the style of the show and character you are auditioning for. My first guess is that if you are a soprano, you would be trying to land Cosette or Young Cosette. Well, I'm a soprano as well...shows how much first impressions can be incorrect. "Les Miserables" is written in the adult contemporary style: mostly ballads and has mature content. Think shows like:

Blood Brothers

Jekyll and Hyde

Miss Saigon (same composers as Les Mis)

Phantom of the Opera

Spring Awakening (not the best resource for a song because it's not Les Mis-ish musically)

Sweeney Todd

As mentioned, look for a good "acting" ballad because Les Mis requires mature actors with strong voices. Start out with these songs:

Before I Gaze at You Again - Camelot (Cosette)

God Help the Outcasts - The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Fantine) ***"Hunchback" was also written by Victor Hugo, the author of "Les Miserables"!