Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsOther - Visual Arts · 10 years ago

Is it possible to become a graphic designer with a studio art degree?

I was recently accepted to a state school that offers a studio art program but no other art majors. I'm wondering if it is possible to obtain the studio art degree while working towards a portfolio and graphic design "concentration" while not actually obtaining a graphic design degree. Is it very important to employers that graphic designers have a graphic design degree or is studio art a suitable substitute?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Absolutely you can find work with that degree. I have been working as a Graphic Designer for over 10 years with a BFA. Employers just want you to have a Bachelors to prove you have professional training. The trick is 2 things, you need to learn the basic programs like Photo shop, In design, and Illustrator. I mean really know them! So don't spend all of your time in the pottery room. Then using your Talent, Nitch, Skill. Start producing work using those tools. That brings me to thing 2 (Portfolio!) this is the only thing that will get you a job, not a resume or a degree but what makes you better then the guy that interviewed before you got there.

One more thing that I highly recommend new Graphic Designers do. Learn the Web! Think of it as just one more media.

• 4 years ago