Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

hawaii time zone question...?

what timezone is hawaii in?

i was trying to find out the local time in hilo, hawaii.

i live in new jersey it's 1:16 pm here and my sprint phone says

that is is 8:16 am in hawaii. but when i googled the time in hawaii

every "world-time calculator" says that it is 7:16 am.

am i missing something?

and also, what is the difference between the HAST(hawaii aleutian standard time) vs HST(hawaii standard time)?

just curious,

thanks in advance

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Gary D
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    At this moment, it is 12:25 PM in Austin, TX where I am, (1:25PM where you are in NJ), and 7:25AM in Hawai'i. Your Sprint phone is probably accounting for Daylight Saving Time, but Hawai'i doesn't observe Daylight Saving Time.

    Here is the official US Time in any US time zone according to the US National Institute of Standards Atomic Clock: http://nist.time.gov/

    HAST and HST are the same thing. The HAST designation includes the name for the Aleutian Islands, which are in the furthest most west time zone of Alaska. You'll be able to see that in the map from the site I listed above.

    Source(s): Retired police crime scene detective in South Florida and CEO of a zoo & science museum. Frequent visitor to Hawai'i.
  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

    Hawaii Time - Monday 12/1/2008 7:17 am HST Alaska Time - Monday 12/1/2008 8:17 am AKST Pacific Time - Monday 12/1/2008 9:17 am PST Mountain Time - Monday 12/1/2008 10:17 am MST Central Time - Monday 12/1/2008 11:17 am CST Eastern Time - Monday 12/1/2008 12:17 pm EST

  • cregar
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    What Timezone Is Hawaii In

  • 6 years ago

    This Site Might Help You.

    RE:

    hawaii time zone question...?

    what timezone is hawaii in?

    i was trying to find out the local time in hilo, hawaii.

    i live in new jersey it's 1:16 pm here and my sprint phone says

    that is is 8:16 am in hawaii. but when i googled the time in hawaii

    every "world-time calculator" says that it is 7:16 am.

    am i...

    Source(s): hawaii time zone question: https://shortly.im/VnMvJ
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • tichur
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    All time is based on GMT...Grennwich Mean Time which is the correct time at the Prime Meridian.

    NJ is GMT-5...subtract 5 from GMT for standard time along the East coast...BUT...now is Daylight Savings Time. The correct time is GMT-4

    Hawaii and the Alaskan Aleutian Islands are in the same time zone GMT-10...BUT...Hawaii has no Daylight Savings. It will always be GMT-10.

    Officially: Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) since 1983

    (Formerly: Alaska-Hawaii Standard Time)

    The majority of Alaska is in GMT-9...BUT... It is GMT-8 now because Alaska observes Daylight Savings Time.

    So....since it is now (then) 1:16 pm in NJ (GMT-4), subtract...10-4=4...6 hrs difference. It is 7:16 in Hawaii.

    http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/usa/new...

    http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/gmt-10/

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    It is 9:26 a.m. now.

    Source(s): Living in Hawai'i
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.