How can I find out what a Polish gulden (now called a zloty) was worth in 1896?

Follow
  • Follow publicly
  • Follow privately
  • Unfollow
I believe an 1896 Polish gulden was worth approximately 15 cents (in 1930 U.S. currency). How/where can I find out what it was worth in 1896 (as stated in 2009 U.S. currency)?
Best AnswerAsker's Choice
I am no expert in 19th Century Polish coins. But, I am always fascinated by Central European history. Poland seemed heavily dominated by other nations. Depending upon which year you were speaking of, territory might have been Poland or Prussia/Germany or Austria-Hungary or Russia.

I believe Austria-Hungary used a gulden in Galizia which was Poland, but now is Western Ukraine.
Take a look at pp.30-31 in this text. It speaks of silver and gold gulden coins used by Austria-Hungary, in addition to 4- and 8-gulden gold coins. It describes a drop in the value of silver at the time.

http://books.google.com/books?id=dAJDAAA...

The following gives you additional color for 18th Century Polish coinage, which while not directly germain to your question will help you see Prussia's role in manufacturing Polish currency.

http://books.google.com/books?id=GsJtAAA...

When you speak of value, you need to decide what specifically you want.
- The value of a gulden in 1896, adjusted to 2009
- The value of a (I'll assume silver) gulden coin from 1896, melted down in 2009 terms
- The collector's value of a (silver) gulden coin from 1896, in 2009 prices

This is not a job for your average coin collector. I would suggest getting 2 or 3 estimates from experts who specialize in coins from this period and region.