? asked in HealthGeneral Health CareFirst Aid · 1 decade ago

What can i do to help my stretched ear heal faster?

okay, so i have recently just stretched my ears to a 7/16 from 00 gauge. The first day my ears felt fine, and then the next day my right ear started hurting alot and looking swollen. I immediatly took out my right plug and it started to bleed a little. After cleaning it good, i found out the problem was that i had a small tear and my fistula was coming out.. It doesnt look like a blow out but my question is what can ido to help my ears heal faster?

ATM i am doing sea salt soaks three times daily and applying neosporine after.

Update:

here is a link to my ear

http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad194/ryman663/...

to answer your questions, i am 16, do not smoke, and healthy

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a nurse practitioner/physician's assistant........I shouldn't use this as a diagnostic tool, but can you post a picture of the damaged ear?? And a "fistula" is a tunnel under the skin...... it is an abnormal connection or passageway between two epithelium-lined organs or vessels that normally do not connect.

The healing process depends on a majority of factors: your overall health, age, smoker/non smoker (yes, it does make a difference) alcohol/no alcohol, recreational drug usage......

I will star this and check back. Just trying to help you so that it doesn't get infected and then you're in deep..............

Christopher K.

EDIT: Continue with your cleansing method, you might want to use some rubbing alcohol, don't us Hydrogen Peroxide~that actually make it take longer to heal. And the Neosporin~ if you can get the CREAM not the OINTMENT, the cream does NOT occlude the wound, the ointment puts up a barrier. Clean 3X/day and apply the neosporin cream after you've dried the area. Best to you.........

Source(s): NP/PA 26 years
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Terri
    Lv 4
    4 years ago