promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Are AP(advanced placement) classes a requirement for environmental engineering?

im a sophomore in high school, and im any really worried about my future. im not very smart, and im not in any clubs, or play a lot of sports. I am good at math, but im not taking any honors or AP. I do have a 4.0 gpa, but im not sure if i can get into an environmental engineering school. do i hae chances of getting into a good college?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Your chances of getting into a good college are highest when you take (and do well in) the most challenging set of courses offered by your high school. If your high school doesn't offer any APs, not taking them will not count against you.

But it sounds like your school does offer honors and AP. Taking regular-level courses will make it more difficult to get into a good school, especially as admissions to engineering colleges are often quite competitive. With a 4.0 in regular level classes, you will not have a problem getting admitted to college - but a good engineering program might be tough.

I would really recommend trying an AP or an honors class. Clearly you're doing well in regular classes, so pick one or two at a higher level and give it a shot. Try Environmental Science (generally easiest of the science APs) or an advanced/honors math class. It would also be a good idea to get involved in some extracurricular activities, even if it's not through the school. Colleges like to see well-rounded students, and a 4.0 with no volunteer work, sports, whatever is not really a good thing.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago