For pursuing a career in FBI/CIA, should I enlist or become an officer? (in USMC)?

I'm currently a sophomore in college pursuing a degree in business administration, and I want to do either the FBI or the CIA as my main career goal. I've been considering either enlisting or doing Platoon Leader's Class, even as early as this summer. I'm just wondering how valuable military experience in the Marines, whether enlisted or officer, will be to my career goal? And if it is valuable, should I definitely go officer over enlisted? Should I start PLC this summer and do it in two summers, or wait until next summer and do the ten weeks all together?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

Since Business Administration isn't exactly the best major they are interested in (Accounting, Biology, etc. are more in demand.) joining the military will most likely boost you're resume.

The fact that you understand discipline, have leadership skills and you know how to operate a firearm can give you and edge above applicants coming from the civilian sector.

Personally, I wouldn't because the military has some benefits, but there is a set of negatives that go along with it. No matter how they try to sugar-coat it by throwing in stipends, bonuses and freedom; the military WILL OWN you for the time frame that you sign.

Source(s): I'm a College Student -FBI Website -3rd Party LEO communities
  • 3 years ago