promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Engineering college questions, need serious answers please.?

Hi, I'm a sophomore in high school, and I've run into a few major questions in the search for colleges. First, some information:

My GPA (as of now, but it will go up): 4.02

Classes: 1 AP, 3 Honors, French 2, Orchestra

Activities: Winterguard, Colorguard, Dance, Church youth group leader, Vice President of my 4H club, Green Club, International Club, 4H camp counselor, Fiddle Club, among others.

Predicted ACT score (from the PLAN test): 34-35

I plan to major in Environmental Engineering, so that narrows down my choices. Which brings me to my first question.

1) Which college(s) are the "best" for majoring in Environmental Engineering?

I'd like your personal opinion, so feel free to interpret "best" however you'd like.

Also, I live in Minnesota (where this major isn't offered at all). So...

2) Do you know of any good colleges close to Minnesota with this major?

and...

3) What do you know of South Dakota school of mining and technology's environmental engineering program?

Other colleges that have caught my eye include California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Colorado State University, Northwestern University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. MIT seems like a stretch for my budget, as well as distance, but it's definitely an option. Any personal information on these would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi Kaitlin,

Environmental engineering is and will continue to be one of the hottest and most employable fields for the next 40 years. That is a great goal.

Don't count on the so-called "predicted" test scores. I've known dozens of students who weren't within 25% of the predictions.

Your ECs look great. Unfortunately, unless they have a bearing on engineering studies, they have no relevance to your college application.