I want to get into the University of Michigan?

I want to go to medical school at the University of Michigan. I am currently a sophomore in high school and I was wondering what classes I should take to get in? I learned that U OF M requires 2 years of a foreign language, which I don't have- but still have 2 years left to do. So other than that can you help, please?

Update:

hahaha, I know what you're saying about doing more than what you need. U OF M says you only need 3 credits of math and 3 in science. I'm taking 5 credits in math and 5 in science. But I don't want the fact that I'll only have two years of a language be my "deal breaker." I mean I speak a second language at home fluently, but I can't document that so it doesn't count obviously. :/

Update 2:

I had 3 accelerated/advanced honors classes last year(freshman). I had three this year and next year i will have 2AP and one accelerated class(if my schedule doesn't switch) and senior year i will have at least 3 AP classes

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

In your final two years of high school, take as many AP/IB classes as you can, and as the other poster said a GPA of 3.75+ unweighted is advisable.

Other than that, there is not a whole lot that matters in regards to class selection since there are not college/med related classes in high school. It would be best to take something like AP/IB bio/chemistry, maybe both, that would help show your interest.