Getting a divorce in the military.. does spouse get any benefits?

My husband and I are young. I'm 18 and he's 21 and we've been married for over a year now but we are growing apart rather then together, which is expected when you get married at 17 and 20. He is in the Marine Corp so it's even harder. I'm sick of fighting and counseling hasn't worked. We both want out but I am worried because I am a full-time student and have no source of income other than him. I'm obviously going to move back home but as of now I have nowhere to go and no money. I need to stay in school or else I'll be working at McDonald's for the rest of my life. I can't work full-time and go to school full-time and even if I went part time for each I still wouldn't be able to afford anything. Any insight on some possibilities? Thank you.

Update:

To I am Loved- Thanks for nothing. Maybe you should have some regards for my feelings seeing as I am in the situation I'm in. At least I know I am a better person than you are at the end of the day.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You could join the military and earn your own benefits if you have to leave the marriage. Education is highly encouraged in the military. I don't know what field you are wanting but if you choose that coming in you get free training. When you get out of the military you will be educated and experienced. That will jump start your career. I have known a few spouses to join up and pick their interest.

• 1 decade ago

Would you not get any kind of maintenance/alimony from him? I have no idea.