Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Which school would you recommend?

I am planning on attending graduate school in Fall 2010. I am from California and I went to UC Berkeley. I studied mechanical engineering (which is what I will be studying in graduate school; masters program). I was hoping to get some opinions/personal experiences/feedback on the following schools I am considering:

I have been accepted to: Clemson, Lehigh Univ., Georgia Tech

Still waiting to hear back: Texas A&M, Purdue, Ohio State

Any insider information of any listed above would be helpful since I have not visited any of these schools or their associated cities. Thanks so much!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Georgia Tech is a great school. They will secure you with a good paying job when you graduate because they are affiliated with many different companies that recruit GA Tech grads. They offer tons of research opportunities from great professors. They have a great reputation, and a degree from tech is highly respected. It's always in the top ten Engineering schools lists. The classes are rigorous, but the effort will be worth it. Also, everyone at Tech has lots of school spirit. You would be proud to be a yellow jacket even if you're not into the sports. The campus is beautiful, also.

The tuition won't kill you either. It's relatively cheap. But most graduate students here are on teaching or research assistantships, so you will probably get one of those pretty easily.