why do people look down on employees of McDonald's?

I have worked at maccas for the past 3 years. Throughout that time i have been given a fair wage of $80/week as a casual to nearly $600/week full time (TBH I know there are some ppl in my particular store that are earning $800/week after tax and are only 21 who are not managers)

I have been given beifits like 1 month paid leave each year, 3 weeks sick leave at half pay each year, stress leave, and numerous other paid entitlments. I have recieved a diploma of business paid for by maccas which is recongised accross all of australia. I have been a crew trainer which bumps up my pay $0.65c an hour (which equates to an extra $26/week), and now i am training to be a manager at my store., oh and im only 17 years old.

So my question is why do ppl think just because you work at maccas you are a stupid high school dropout that will make nothing of themselves??

Update:

actually i wasnt showing off, i was making a point that working at mcdonalds is just as much of a career as any other business.

SMARTARSE

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Katty
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

McD is seen as your first job - if you stay there for more than 6 months there must be something wrong with you (that is the impression). Really after 2 years you should have moved onto a new company - the longer you stay with McD the harder it will be to get a job outside McD. 2 years should be the limit at your age

• 5 years ago