nickie asked in Business & FinanceInsurance · 10 years ago

Insurance Professionals Only: Should I take the AU (Associate in Commercial Underwriting) before or after?

taking the CPCU (Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter with a commercial concentration) program?

I am currently in the commercial department of a very well known insurance & financial services company. My current duties include making auto/property/gl/inland marine changes to existing policies, quote & issue new business umbrella policies with insured specific underwriting approved information, research and produce loss run letters, and answer call center questions from insureds/agents/oas on an occasional basis. My ambitions are to become a higher level of an insurance professional, something along the lines of an underwriter or even a commercial insurance lines expert. I have a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration General Management & have obtained the INS (Program in General Insurance) & the AIS (Associates in Insurance Services) designations. I am currently studying for the ACS (Associate in Customer Service) & will be taking it very soon. I'm on the fence as to what insurance designation I should go for in the next testing window. The AU is only 2 tests while the CPCU is 8 tests. Obviously the CPCU would require a lot more work & effort and a much longer time frame but it's more highly recognized than the AU so I would rather get it first. But if the AU class work would help to better understand everything in the CPCU program then I should go that route. Any suggestions will help me with my career track please! Thank you in advance.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • lucy
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer