Is Rap intelligent music? Or does it matter?

I'm a musician, having playing drums for 11 years, and guitar for 3. I am experiencing difficulty advancing in guitar. A rap song came on and it made me think, "Should I just give up, get a rhyming dictionary, talk about bitches and hoes and the hood, and just make music on the computer."

Can anybody honestly say that rap is intelligent music?

Do any intelligent people listen to rap seriously?

What is the relationship between intelligence and rap music?

What is the most intelligent genre of music?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

While certain music may be dumb...the Music itself has no defining of person's IQ....fact is...I could be a genius and my favorite show is Sesame Street....One doesn't define the other in this regard...

Rap has its moments of intelligence...rap has its moments of party....rap has its moments of stupidity....Just like most things....The news is starting to look like a tabloid now....but its said that people who watch the news more than TV series appear to be more intelligent...which is rubbish...

Intelligent people listen to rap seriously...thats how you know they are intelligent...because they are able to tell the difference between the intelligent and the foolish....

Relationship between intelligence and rap music.....diction...wordplay...Literary Devices....i think there is a number of things you can tie together with Intelligence here...Maybe you should ask that question about other forms of music....like Metal....Your answer would be more interesting and less obvious...

There is no most intelligent genre....music doesn't define the person...Simply put....you can listen to Rap and be a very intelligent person...where as you can also listen to Classical...and be a total idiot...its all in the person.