Is 15.24% ARP high for a credit card interest rate?

I am still learning about credit card, the rates and such. I had a medical emergency awhile ago that ended up costing me a about 5,000, I am still paying it down as best I can, I was going over the bill and I noticed the interest rate, and was just wondering if 15.24% is a high rate, standard or low.

Update:

Judy,

I actaully have decent credit, my score as of last month was 730. And I already pay about 100 dollars every month over what is owed.

I also payed off my car in January. I am only 23, so over all I am pretty happy with where I am at so far.

-------------

I just got a job three days ago after going through some intense unemployment and am thrilled to finally be able to pay alot more.

Thank you for the information about my APR, I am grateful it is not higher now :-). I might check into a credit union card, thank you for the suggestion!

12 Answers

Relevance
  • CS
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Before you sign up for any credit card you need to always read the fine print. Not reading and understanding the fine print is what cost so many people their homes during the mortgage crisis.

If you have your original application or paperwork for the credit card find out what the fine print says. You may be paying 15.24% now but is it an introductory/adjustable rate? Is it set at a certain amount just for the first year or so? Recession or not, people with good credit who aren't afraid to negotiate will pay about 9%. What you're paying is not standard - nor should it be.

Google Ann Minch, to learn about how one woman fought back against her credit card APR. Her videos on You Tube sparked national outrage. Interesting story.

Source(s): Former collections agent.
  • 4 years ago