Working in the United States as Canadian with an E-Business?

Hi:

I'm a freelance translator.

My clients are abroad, some in the US, some in Korea, some in Egypt.

I don't sign any papers with american companies per say, I don't deal with anyone locally, I don't make transactions in person or on hardcopy paper, payments are done to my Canadian account, I don't make any transactions via a US account.

I can work anywhere on earth there's internet.

Now my question is this:

As a Canadian, it is prohibited to obtain employment in the United States. I don't have a social Security Number for the US. I just get my jobs online and send them back online. Obviously I pay Canadian Taxes. My body isn't in Canada, but my business is. It has a PO box, I am self-employed. Where my body is, due to the nature of my business, is absolutely and totally irrelevant. It is entirely irrelevant to position in space on this earth.

Is it illegal to do so? Could it lead to trouble if a job is approved and a payment is made to my canadian account if my body is in the United States? Does it matter at all?

Thank you:

Alexandre

Update:

Thank you Fred for this very comprehensive and informative response.

On those points you've put there:

1) Say I jettison the US clients so I don't work for them when in the US. I would take work from Korea, Canada and Egypt only; my salary being foreign only, would it then make it legal?

2) I do have an apartment in Montreal, I do have a girl in Atlanta. She's American and under contract for 8 months in Atlanta. I'm trying to find the optimal solution for my visiting her pending this period.