Dan asked in Politics & GovernmentPolitics · 10 years ago

Can somebody define liberal and conservative BY YOURSELF WITHOUT LOOKING AT ANY TYPE OF DICTIONARY!?

this is kind of an experiment to see if people are educated or use these terms wrong

Update:

in what i have just learned in school liberal means being for change and conservatism means being for tradition, so i do have a generally basic idea. i was seeing how many answers i would get that slams one side and glorifies the other

Update 2:

so yes gws35, i do have a general idea, i never said i was an expert

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

someone asked almost an identical question so i'm just going to copy and paste my old answer. that guy was looking for the answer, not just whether or not i knew the answer, but i'll play along anyway. here goes:

this is the worst place imaginable to get that information as most people on yahoo answers are completely biased. i'll give you an honest answer though. (this is for u.s. politics, btw, as these titles have different meanings in other countries.) here you go.

a conservative by definition is someone who favors the policies of the past and feels that changes in the law are more often than not a bad thing. historical conservatism favored small government and limited spending by public agencies. conservatism today tends to favor "hot button" positions like being "pro-life", favoring heterosexual marriage, "tort reform" and others. some of the biggest spenders in u.s. history have been self-described conservatives, and so it is fair to say that the limited spending or "fiscal conservatism" is no longer a seriously relevent position for this group of people (outside of those who specifically refer to themselves as "fiscal conservatives". they tend to vote for republicans, think america is the greatest country in the world and love their kids.