what college is best for majoring in humanities or history?

(srry for such the long paragraph for my question) Im in 9th grade and i know graduation is 4yrs away but I just want to get things narrowed down so it can be easier for me to make the right decisions on what i want to do after high school. I am really fascinated with 1800's history and back wherever it might be, religion, poitics, art,literature. And i learned that humanites would cover religion,politics,art,etc. but in history it would cover 1600's europe and such. I would want to learn all these things but im not sure neccarsaily how and i will learn that when i become a senior and etc but i want to know wut would be the best college to go to major in humanities or history?

thanks for your help and opinion

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, I am an undergrad (sophomore) at Loyola University Chicago, which is well-known in the Chicago area for their focus on the humanities. I'm a history and philosophy major with a minor in political science. So far, I have taken 5 history classes, 3 poli sci, 5 philosophy classes, and 3 theology classes. Since Loyola is a Jesuit (Catholic order of priests) run college, each student must take 2 theology courses, though they don't even have to be Christian courses. Many of my friends take Islamic affairs, or buddhist philosophy instead.

We have about 10,000 undergards and our student body is less than 40% Catholic by the way, so don't let the Catholic thing scare you. I would say that any Jesuit run university would be great for studying the humanities.

This includes:

Marquette (Milwaukee)

Loyola (Chicago, New Orleans, Los Angeles)

Creighton (Omaha)

Fordham (New York City)

Fairfield (Connecticut)

Gonzaga (Spokane)

Georgetown (Washington DC)

John Carroll (Cleveland)

Regis (Denver)

Boston College (Boston)

St. Louis University (STL)

Xavier (Cincinnati, OH)