if my green card is denied, will they take my F-1 visa away?

i have the F-1 visa now and i am studying in usa with no problem, but i want to apply for the green card, if they denied my green card, will they take my visa away also for any reason?

Update:

sorry, i should have said that my american stepparents want to apply for my green card, but they are afraid that if they denied my green card, they will revoke my F-1 visa.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

Student visa is a non-immigrant type of visa and you are expressly forbidden to change status to an immigration-class of visa. If you apply for a green card on a student visa, you very well could have your student visa pulled and be barred from reentry since such an application indicates visa fraud - that you never had any intention of returning to your own country upon completion or termination of studies.

You are welcome to study in the US, if you can pay your own way, but a condition of issuing such a visa was that you would return to your own country immediately upon completion or termination of studies. So you are going home as soon as you finish or leave school.

• Fred S
    Lv 7
    10 years ago

You're asking for a prediction. It's possible that your F-1 visa could be revoked.

In order to qualify for an F-1 visa, an applicant must show "present intent to leave the United States at conclusion of studies." If you attempt to become a permanent resident, that would imply you have no intention to leave the U.S. at the end of studies.

In 22 CFR 41.122(a) it says: Grounds for revocation by consular officers. A consular officer is authorized to revoke a nonimmigrant visa issued to an alien if: