promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicClassical · 1 decade ago

I play the oboe. Should I switch to the french horn?

My brother plays the french horn, and I really like the sound and the repertoire, so I was wondering if it would be the best to switch. I am really good at the oboe, especialy the second and third movements of mozart's oboe concerto, so mabey I should keep it up as well.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, with you playing the oboe, your embouchure will already be fairly fine tuned enough to play the horn. That is one of the most difficult parts about a horn is that you need control in your chops. All your pitches are so close together that the slightest slip will take you up or down a partial. Otherwise, the horn is a beautiful instrument and if played well can make even the most manliest of men cry lol. I have been playing French Horn for 10 years now and I believe it has the most beautiful and versatile sound. You can sound light and heavenly, dark and fierce, and when called for crass and dominant!

Source(s): Experience
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

If you love the repertoire of the French Horn, then switch. You will have more fun in the long run if the material is more inspiring to you. It might also be fun to be able to play with and learn from your brother. Both instruments are musically in demand, so either way you go you can earn some money performing freelancing when you get good enough. Every band I've ever been in was always very weak in Double Reeds and Horns.

I say don't let oboe die-keep it as a hobby and whip it out for holidays and such!

• Eric A
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago