if i didnt pay my taxes last year, can i file and get that income tax this year?

i made about 8,000 or so last year and would have gotten back money... i didnt file and didnt hear anything about it. would it be better to say something and see if i get some tax credit or just leave it alone in case they are going to charge me for it this year.

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

File your 2008 while you can still find or get your W-2s. Don't forget to attach copies of w-2 forms to your tax returns.

Seems that everyone else forgot to tell you that if you are due a refund and don't file within 3 years you forfeit your refund.

If you are due a refund and you don't file, they don't give you a credit and they don't contact you. They assume that you have forfeited your withholdings to them. Therefore you must file to get your refund.

Source(s): I am an Enrolled Agent (EA) with 20 years experience.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Tom C
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

If you are entitled to a refund then you can simply file your 2008 return and you will get a full refund without having to pay any penalties or interest. Penalties and interest are only assessed on overdue taxes...however, you didn't have any overdue taxes. The IRS owes you money. You don't need to file an amended return since you didn't file a return for 2008 in the first place and you can't combine your 2008 earnings with your 2009 earnings on your 2009 return. Go the the website IRS.GOV and you can pull up blank copies of tax forms and instructions for the 2008 tax year. Just prepare and file your return for 2008 return and mail it in (you can't e-file for past tax years) just as you would have if you had timely filed your return. You will get your full refund.

• 1 decade ago

SURE

And, if you're due a refund, then there is No late filing penalty and fees

If you were NOT a dependent, you weren't required to file if your income was $8000, but can file to obtain a refund of withholding