promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 1 decade ago

What is the highest caliber gun that police carry?

And possibly higher levels of law enforcement, too. Separately, like x for them, y for them, etc...

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

For handguns, the highest caliber is .45 ACP. For shotguns, they use 12 gauge. For rifles, it depends on the situation. .223 rifles and .30 carbines are commonly carried in patrol cars. .308 would be used by SWAT snipers. A few departments have .50 BMGs in their armories. I have no idea what they use them for.

Note that caliber doesn't always equate to power. The .223 AR-15 or M16 is significantly more powerful than the .30 carbine, for example. A full house .357 Magnum is more powerful than a .45 ACP.

Source(s): I'm a firearms instructor. I sometimes train and train with police officers.
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

The .45 is becoming fashionable for many departments once again, so Glock 21s are becoming more and more common in holsters across the country. And is probably the "biggest" (diameter) round an average patrol officer carries.

Though I don't think much thought is put into that choice other than "bigger must be better". I know there will always be big bore advocates However, I have never seen shown a study or data that a .45 is any better of a man stopper than a .40 S&W. If you buy into Marshall and Sanow (some people don't) or the Strasbourg studies (again, some don't), most of the data shows the .40 to probably be at least an equal, if not better stopper. Plus you get a couple more rounds in your gun.

If you want raw power, you still see some.357 magnums in older timer's holsters and very very rarely, an occasional .41 or .44 magnum.

Source(s): Me Police Officer
  • Anonymous
    4 years ago