? asked in Home & GardenOther - Home & Garden · 1 decade ago

How can I stop my inactive home security system from randomly beeping?

We moved in a few months ago, and because we don't have a landline, the pre-existing home security system is inactive. That hasn't been a problem until this week, when I tripped the smoke alarm; ever since then, once a day, usually at a painfully early hour, it beeps until I type in the security code. Then it happens all over again the next morning. The control panel is in our closet and I suspect the solution to my problem lies there, but I'm not sure what wires to disconnect. Any ideas?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Layla
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am an alarm pro girl. You have to find the metal box that has the connections in it, NOT the keypad with the buttons on it, ok. Then you open the metal box. Inside on the bottom there will be a big battery. you undo the red battery lead on it. It will not shock you, it is only 12 volts. Leave the black battery lead on because i don't want you accidentally touching the red and black leads off of that together or it will make a spark and scare you. Next read along the screws inside until you see the two screws that say AC or 12 Volt. This is the power. Now follow the wires from under those two screws until you find the plug in the wall. Its a big fat plug. Unplug that plug and your security system will have no power whatsoever.

If you want the security system to be functional, you will have to get a professional such as myself to come to your home and program it the way you want it. Good Luck.

Source(s): goddess of alarm systems
  • 3 years ago

Source(s): Learn Personal Defence http://netint.info/UltimateSelfDefenseGuide
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 5 years ago

If you have the issue with the beeping every 24 hours and having to press the Cancel button, I found this solution from another site, and it works great!