Avionics~ HI/DG? How to tell your heading?

I can read and understand the idiot proof glass cockpit avionics, as they are pretty self explanatory...and i know how older gauges work, like the DG, and Magnetic Compass ect....but what i cant figure out is how you find your way without a flight plan?

lets assume i took off from airport X heading east....and wanted to find my way airport Y....is there a way to get there using IFR without already knowing what heading to use?

i cant find ANY good info on how to fully utilize the DG....im just getting into learning avionics, so pardon me if some of my abbreviations are wrong.

basically i wanna know....if you plan to go from HERE to THERE....how do you know what your heading should be?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Glass cockpits are not idiot-proof, unfortunately. Fortunately, most pilots are not idiots.

To find your way from airport X to airport Y, you need a navigation plan. And since you are legally required to file a flight plan for an IFR flight, including information on your altitude(s) and route to be flown, you'll need that plan before you start the flight.

You develop the plan by looking at charts and finding your way from one airport to the other, then you mark down your navigational fixes and planned altitudes and put them into your flight plan.