foreign exchange student?

so im getin a foreign exchange student next year,,

i have to communicate with her and stuff like that.

but i dont kno what to tell her. help me because im so confused!

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Oh go you! I am an exchange student in Germany and let me tell you... the best you can do for your new exchange sister is to include her in things. Even tiny things. If she doesn't speak English very well at all (nothing or basic, simple sentences like 'I am hungry' and 'I have an aunt'), this is easy. For example, when walking somewhere, just talk like you are out with a small child -- just about what you see. "That's our neighbour, Susan Smith. [introduce them if they don't know each other] She has a very nice garden. I love smelling the roses. [pause here to smell the roses] Hey, look, a squirrel. [point] They're so cute." I mean, don't baby her or treat her like she's stupid (there's a difference between talking simply about simple things and going "Look, a dog. Do you see the dog? It's a nice dog. I like dogs. Nice dog. Nice brown dog.") but just talking will make her feel included and will help her pick up on the language and get used to hearing English. If she speaks some English already, just remember to speak slowly and simply. If she asks you to repeat yourself more than once, try rephrasing the question. For example, she might not understand, "Do you have any siblings?" but would understand if you asked, "Do you have any brothers or sisters?" (If she still needed help, you might say, "I have one brother, Daniel, and two sisters, Hannah and Rachel. But only Daniel lives with us. Hannah and Rachel are at university.")