promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
CeCe asked in HealthOther - Health · 1 decade ago

I have random shakes. What does it mean?

So I have had issues since about 6th grade with my arms twitching. Not just like random one twitch spasms but like I was having full-on tremors. I'm not sure if it's classified as a tremor or not. More recently, my legs have started doing the same thing. I freaked myself out one day by thinking I had Parkinson's Disease. I surely hope I don't. The thing about it is that it's not totally random. It's if my arms or legs are idle for any amount of time they start to shake, especially my hands. My hands shake sometimes even when I am using them. Like if I am eating dinner and holding my fork up, my hand will shake. I'm very concerned and I don't know what to do. Help?

Update:

Oh, I forgot to mention I'm a freshman in college now. It's been about 7 years since I started having problems.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Mags
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, I'm not sure that we can give you much good news except to say that you probably don't have PD. Although you are exhibiting a resting tremor, it appears to be bilateral which is not typical of the onset of PD.. Moreover, your tremor is also an action or intention tremor, also not common in early Parkinson's disease.

If you have been manifesting symptoms for 7 years, it is more likely that you could have an Essential Tremor as has already been suggested. While there are some Juvenile Parkinson's patients, not many people develop PD between 2 and 20 years of age. ET is not uncommon in younger people in their teens. As you will read, you may be symptomatic for a few years and then find that the symptoms stop only to reappear years later.

One of the best places to read about movement disorders is WeMove.org. You can pick other conditions in the left margin for further reading. I suggest that you begin with the ET section:

http://www.wemove.org/et/et.html