Could someone tell me a little bit about the UCLA campus?

Dorms, overall campus size, libraries, etc.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

UCLA is in the Westwood section of LA, just inland from the Santa Monica/Brentwood area. borders Bel Air (North and northwest side of campus) along Sunset Blvd, which has a lot of trees and glam houses - down the west side is a hilly section of Westwood that's jam packed with apartment houses (even a few fraternity houses) - and just beyond that (going west) the huge VA cemetery. To the south is a few blocks full of shops and restaurants... there's a fair amount to do, but it's not as much fun as other neighborhoods (Santa Monica, Venice, Silverlake, etc.) so I didn't hang out there much when I was a student. Bordering that little commercial area is Wilshire Blvd, one of the huge main streets (going east-west). Finally along the east side of campus (Hilgard Ave) is a residential area. So, overall it's really nicely situated.

It's super close to the beach (maybe 10 minutes' drive) and in the other direction, to Beverly Hills. Westside Pavilion mall is not too far (by car or bus); same for the Beverly Center. There's always the 3rd Street Promenade right by the beach in Santa Monica, which leads directly into Santa Monica Place mall, which is being totally rebuilt but will be open before the next school year starts. Point being, there are a ton of things to do really nearby, and it's definitely in the safer area of LA. A little common sense and you'll be fine.