Ryan asked in Arts & HumanitiesHistory · 10 years ago

For each of the 3 levels of the Federal Judiciary, can someone please describe their role in the judiciary...?

process (when do they hear cases) and

b) the types of cases that they may hear

1 Answer

  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

    The United States district courts are the general federal trial courts, although in many cases Congress has passed statutes which divert original jurisdiction to the above-mentioned specialized courts or to administrative law judges (ALJs). In such cases, the district courts have jurisdiction to hear appeals from such lower bodies.

    The United States courts of appeals are the federal intermediate appellate courts. They operate under a system of mandatory review which means they must hear all appeals from the lower courts.

    The Supreme Court of the United States is the supreme court (court of last resort). It generally is an appellate court that operates under discretionary review, meaning that the Court, through granting of writs of certiorari, can choose which cases to hear. There is generally no mandatory right of appeal to the Supreme Court. In a few unusual situations (like lawsuits between state governments or some cases between the federal government and a state) it sits as a court of original jurisdiction. Such matters are generally referred to a designated individual (usually a sitting or retired judge or well-respected attorney) to sit as a special master and report to the Court with recommendations.

    There are othr federal courts that deal with specific type cases such as:

    United States bankruptcy courts

    United States Tax Court

    United States Court of Private Land Claims

    United States Court of International Trade

    United States Court of Federal Claims

    United States Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.