Christian and Practicing Martial Arts?

I am an Animal Control Officer and work alone 99 percent of the time. Can a Christian practice and use martial arts or must we turn the other cheek?

Thanks,

John Runer

Update:

I have faced and angry dog owner with a psitol and a record! having to kill a man over a dog issue is a deep concern. I have a family that wants me to come home though.

24 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Do Martial arts even work on animals? Did David turn the other cheek When confronted by Goliath?

Source(s): Chuck Norris does my laundry
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

1. Martial Arts is a form of self-defense which is permitted in the Bible.

2. "Turn the other cheek" doesn't mean what people think it does. What Christ was saying was to stand up to the aggressor. In that time and place, when you insulted a person, you would back hand them across the face. If the person was intimidated, he walked away. If he was standing up to the aggressor, he would turn the other cheek. THAT would force the aggressor to slap him with the same hand but open handed. That was a sign of respect.

Jesus never intended for people to be abused, hurt or killed without defending themselves. Losing material possessions is one thing and nothing to worry about. Health and safety are quite another thing.

Source(s): Master's Degree in World Religion/History
  • Donna
    Lv 4
    4 years ago