Is it legal for the State of Alabama to pay me less than my subordinates?

I am a new police manager in a large State-owned University, but was appointed because of over 20 years experience in a previous job that I have retired from. Due to the way the University has handled pay raises in the past, my salary is much lower than present supervisors at my level, and I have several... show more I am a new police manager in a large State-owned University, but was appointed because of over 20 years experience in a previous job that I have retired from. Due to the way the University has handled pay raises in the past, my salary is much lower than present supervisors at my level, and I have several subordinates, even two levels below me, that make more than I do. They do the same work that I do, or have done in the past, and there is no reason for this inequity other than budget management. Is this legal? Should I consult an attorney? How can they do this in the United States?