Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceTaxesUnited States · 1 decade ago

Help~ I made a mistake last year, now we owe $$ to the IRS!?

When we filed our taxes last year, we failed to include my husband's unemployment compensation. We received a letter xmas eve explaining that we owe $2000! That would be our whole return (that we were deperately counting on!) this year. Is there any way we can make payments and still receive our return for 2009???

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

Well your probably not going to pick this as the best answer.

You'll be further ahead to just let them have your 2009 refund.

If you live in a state that taxes unemployment then file an amended state tax return. In Iowa if you amend it; no penalty just interest. If Iowa sends you the initial letter it has penalty and interest.

Source(s): I'm an Enrolled Agent.
  • 1 decade ago

An installment agreement, where you agree to pay a fixed amount each month over time, will cost you $105, and interest charges will still accrue. An installment agreement will not result in your being able to keep your refund. Quote from the IRS:

"As a condition of your installment agreement, any refund due to you in a future year will be applied against the amount you owe. Therefore, you may not get all of your refund if you owe certain past-due amounts, such as federal tax, state tax, a student loan, or child support. The IRS will automatically apply the refund to the taxes owed. If the amount of your refund does not take care of the tax debt; then your installment agreement continues until all of the terms are met."

So, doing an installment agreement is pointless and expensive.

The Earned Income Credit and Additional Child Tax Credit have been made more generous this year. Also, if you and your spouse have been working, there is an $800 Making Work Pay credit that may benefit you depending on how much was withheld for taxes.