Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesSan Francisco · 1 decade ago

moving to San Francisco?

I currently reside in the San Fernando Valley. I am seriously considering moving to San Francisco within the next few months. I was wondering if anyone could give me some pros and cons about San Francisco. I have visited several times, and I fell in love with the city. I have done a bit of research, but I would really appreciate it if a local could help me out on this...I would like to know info such as schools (i have two children in elementary and I am a college student), transportation, safety, etc

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

San Francisco is the fourth most populous city in California and the 12th most populous city in the United States, with a 2008 estimated population of 808,976.The only consolidated city-county in California

The historic center of San Francisco is the northeast quadrant of the city bordered by Market Street to the south. It is here that the Financial District is centered, with Union Square, the principal shopping and hotel district, nearby. Cable cars carry riders up steep inclines to the summit of Nob Hill, once the home of the city's business tycoons, and down to Fisherman's Wharf, a tourist area featuring Dungeness crab from a still-active fishing industry. Also in this quadrant are Russian Hill, a residential neighborhood with the famously crooked Lombard Street, North Beach, the city's Little Italy, and Telegraph Hill, which features Coit Tower. Nearby is San Francisco's Chinatown, established in the 1860s. The Tenderloin is frequently described as the worst neighborhood in the city by tourist guides

Tourism is the backbone of the San Francisco economy. Its frequent portrayal in music, film, and popular culture has made the city and its landmarks recognizable worldwide

Colleges and universities

The Mission Bay campus of UCSF