What does it take to become a Japanese foreign exchange student:?

I am currently in my Senior year of high school in America. I have always had an interest in the Japanese culture and have always wanted to go there since I was a child. I am currently studying the language on my own but graduate this year and wanted to know what it takes to get there. I am doing well with my grades besides my trigonometry class they are all A's and B's. I was wondering if it would be possible to if when I graduated extend my high school education by one year as a foreign exchange student over there. I have no idea of how to go about this or who to contact for information. I've looked into other types of programs through colleges but I've really been thinking that I've wanted to try college over there since they supposedly have a higher stricter education system than America. Would this be possible?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

A desire to learn a very difficult language, the ability to withstand being stared at and having people exclaim "foreigner!!" when they see you, a great deal of independance, the strength to take the culture shock... and make sure it's really Japanese culture you are interested, not manga/cuteness (this might seem really obvious but I think a LOT of people have this idea that Japan is just cute and full of adorable people and so kawaiiiii, and if you were to go on exchange expecting that, you would have an especially hard time with culture shock).

You are thinking about this very late and some programs, like Rotary, had deadlines back in October or Novemer for the 2010/2011 school year. A gap year is certainly doable if you were to quickly find an exchange program. Google and ask around, there are many out there. AFS and YFU come to mind, but I don't know when their deadlines are/were.

As for uni there -- take things one step at a time. Hard to do university in a language you don't speak, for example.

• Belie