Using a CB radio? Portable radios?

Hey. I am starting to really get into my EMS work and being a volunteer, I don't get a personal radio from the squad. SO, as a little Christmas gift to myself, I am looking to buy myself a personal radio or scanner. I'd prefer that it be more than just a scanner so I have the option to talk back if in an emergency, but.....

So, I was wondering, what type of radio do I need? We are still analog so no need for digital. Do I need a CB (portable preferable, not mobile, if so) and if so, how do you pick what frequencies you listen to? All of the ones I've seen don't have a place where you can type in the frequencies you want like you do a scanner or other portable radios. Thanks.

PS. I'm new to this so i'm pretty much clueless.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

CB's don't transmit in the same frequency range as emergency services. To give a correlation, you can't transmit on your CB down the block and someone hear it clearly through their TV a mile away. That's because the TV and CB are in different frequency ranges. Same with the CB and emergency communications, the frequencies used in both are very different and can't talk to eacch other.

A scanner will allow you to listen to the emergency services but not talk.

A third option if you're looking at providing services for your community would be to get an amateur radio license (Also known as Ham Radio). After hurricane Katrina the -vast- majority of communications out of New Orleans was through Ham operators that trained privately in emergency communications and handling communications during disasters. An EMT with a ham license could be an invaluable asset during a massive disaster that affects a city's normal police/fire communications.