Meredith C asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

Is it normal for a therapist to require you to pay for special evaluations and tests?

I went to a therapist for the first time in my life earlier this week. I felt very comfortable with her, and think that she could really help me. However, she will not schedule me for regular weekly visits until I take some evaluations and tests administered by her assistant. The cost is $350, and is not covered by insurance. Is this normal? She seems nice, but it seemed odd to me. I told her that I was wanted to wait until the new year, because my insurance is changing and I will have a health savings account and can use tax free money to pay for them. But I am having doubts on whether these are necessary, and if I should go to another therapist instead. Does anyone have experience with this? I'm pretty new to this kind of thing.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Jody
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You don't say whether you have a counselor with a 4 year degree or a psychologist with a Master's or Doctorate degree. Is this woman in practice for herself or does she work in a clinic.

Also, what tests are they? Not all are accepted in the Professional community. MMPR (Minnesota Multi-Phasic Personality Test) is one standard test that is acceptable for personality typology by leaders in the field. I was not charged separately by my psychotherapist (Ph.D.) for my test. I heard they usually charge $40-60 bucks to process (read the results) but the cost was covered by my insurance. And that was nearly 10 years ago.