Chase asked in PetsOther - Pets · 1 decade ago

is it easy to raise cattle?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

No. I have been raising cattle an showing cattle for 20 years, and it is heartbreaking, consuming work. It isn't just throwing out grain and hoping for the best. It is sleepless nights waiting for heifers to calve, and spending you weekends checking fence line. You have to think about land management, and vaccinations, and branding, and castrating bull calves and selling old cows (that are your pets), and record keeping, and weather patterns, and drought, and hay shortages and trailers with broken axles, and hauling water in buckets from the creek b/c your well is broken, and never taking a vacation, and buying the best livestock you can to help your breeding program, registering your calves with the breed association, pulling breech calves, tax credits, breeding cows so the calves are the right age for the livestock fairs, mastitis, flies, snakebites, parasites, etc. etc. etc. It is a business like anything else, and it can be satisfying and fulfilling, but NEVER NEVER NEVER easy.

Source(s): I'm a rancher
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

You should answer this question yourself by spending some time on a farm where cattle are raised. I am biased towards integrated New England farms where many things are done at the same time - for instance, we raise sheep, chickens, vegetables and turkeys - but as long as it is not a feed lot or a ranch, or factory dairy, you have a wide choice for an honest impression.

Raising farm animals is completely different from raising a pet. They have a purpose and a financial equation, as well as serious labor.

Cattle present some issues - they are big, eat a lot of food that you wouldn't have around except for them, require special housing and special care. And they do not care if it is raining - they still get hungry.