Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsGeography · 1 decade ago

Should I go to West Point?

I am currently a freshman in college right now with a full 4 year ROTC scholarship. I wasn't for sure if I wanted to be in the Army or not so I thought I'd check out ROTC since I knew I could get out. Well now I'm really enjoying it, and I'm beginning to want more out of it. I know that I'd want to further myself in the military life, and I believe West Point would provide this opportunity to me.

Is it to late to apply? Would you recommend it? What are the requirements? I got a 26 on my ACT and did well on the writing section as well. I also graduated high school with highest honors.

Please let me know your thoughts or experiences, and what steps I should be taking next.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

First, if you go to West Point, you will automatically be in the regular Army when you graduate. Only a small percentage of ROTC graduates are picked for the regular Army. Most go into the Reserves.

Second, you would have to start over as a freshman. Your first year of school would not count. You cannot transfer in as a sophomore. It's possible that some of your coursework would be accepted, but it would be more like you had received AP credit and could skip a class rather than that you had already been in college.

Third, you can't just go. You need an appointment. Monday morning, get on the phone to your Congresscritter's office and ask what is required for an appointment to West Point. Next, call your high school's college counseling center. I honestly don't know if you should talk to anyone at your ROTC office. I did AFROTC in college (albeit 20 years ago) and one guy was given absolute grief because he was going to Colorado Springs the following year.

And then go to the Website and apply.

https://candidate.usma.edu/guest/cq/dad_pcq_part1....